Sailing we are sailing

Word of the Day:

Quidnunc1: (n.) a person who is eager to know the latest news and gossip; a gossip or busybody.

My daughter recently got me interested in a YouTuber who does Geo-based activities. In one of his pursuits (he calls himself Geo-Wizard) he decides to travel across Wales, from his home on the English / Welsh border.

All well and good you might say, but he does this trying to go in a completely straight line, cutting through farms and across rivers. A bit silly, but it did get me off on a tangent to watch other interesting Vloggers.

One such really entertaining as well as informative Vlog I came across on YouTube is Barry Perrin’s channel called ‘Adventures of an old Seadog‘, who sails single-handedly across the globe in his sail boat, ‘White Shadow’, or as Barry affectionately calls her, ‘Shaddy’.

Barry Perrins

I’ve found it really entertaining even for a lay person who knows dick all about sailing. It makes for some really compulsive watching and I think Barry is a natural orator. English, down to earth and jolly good stuff. It makes for some binge-worthy TV and I’ve managed to watch his entire videos over several days, as I was hooked.

Now I’m watching RAN Sailing, friends of Barry’s from Sweden. I’ve started to watch their vlog series and it’s equally as enjoyable, they also have a WordPress blog here.

Entertaining, Enjoyable and Informative.

8 thoughts on “Sailing we are sailing

  1. Another super quality vlog is, Life in a Nutshell. The married couple of Magnus and Wendy, from Australia have traveled far and wide; sharing with great personality and a welcome aboard.

    1. My father who I recently turned on to sailing vlogs has also mentioned this Australian couple who owned a narrow boat, but then decided on sailing around the world, Thanks Jerry it’s on my todo watch list.

      1. Absolutely. They’re some great folk. The latest update from them is that they will be doing some more sailing in Australia. up near the Kimberleys. But they also said they plan to buy another Narrowboat and travel more of the canals in the future. You might get a kick from Magnus’s beer reviews too 🙂

Leave a comment