To weigh or not to weigh that is the question…

I’ve been trying to lose weight these pass couple of months now, and so far… well it doesn’t seem to be working. I do exercise but I don’t seem to be losing anything…

Maybe it was because of that cream cake I ate yesterday, or my preference for spaghetti five times a week…

My chosen exercise is walking, now I know that may sound rather wimpy, and in exercise circles it might seem that way, but I’m doing these ‘light’ workouts in the belief that I will burn more calories over a longer period of exercise; the fact that I’m unfit /over weight and don’t want to keel over and look stupid publicly, that may have something to do with it as well.

To be honest with you I often lose track of when I’m supposed to weigh myself, as well as what bloody time I’m supposed to do it, and should I be naked or clothed, should I have taken a shit before or after a weigh-in, as well as eating or not eating… I’ve come to the conclusion that I should weigh myself before exercise only, that way I knowing what weight I am at regular intervals and also I get rid of the silly weigh-in day that dieters use.

Now I know checking weight everyday or days when I exercise doesn’t particularly sound like a good idea, weight clubs for years and years have been using weigh-in days to make sure you starve yourself in order to avoid the public humiliation that follows from not sticking to a strict diet. I don’t think dieting on it’s own is a good idea if you want to lose weight, and I’m not a great believer in diets, because for me I don’t stick to them really, and by being very strict I end up eating more bad foods in the long run by relapsing into bad habits.

There is also another reason why I’m weighing myself everyday and this has more to do with exercise than diet. Now the way science tell us about losing calories (and this BTW works for any type of exercise) is the belief that the more mass one has (the bigger the person / heaver the person is) the more calories one should burn during the same type of exercise as say a smaller mass. So if you’re an ‘overweight’ person that’s quite good news (as well as an incentive) to exercise, knowing that you can burn more fat, than some little guy who might look fit but is just a small and insignificant mass 🙂

Now I have a app on my Android which I use to measure my distance and speed (called Cardiotrainer) which is rather good. Buried away in the settings page of the application is a facility to adjust the weight so that the app can work out how many calories a person like me (who is technically overweight) burns during the duration of the exercise, and because it varies quite a lot from person to person the end results are quite different. I change this setting every time I’m due to go out on my walk.

You might think that is a bit anal…

Getting back to thinking about calories and mass, imagine the difference it makes if your body has different weight on-board due to extra solids and fluids (wee/poo food/water) as well as clothing and footwear, now that is going to be different at different times of the day by several pounds, so weighing yourself before each exercise session (using an app like Cardiotrainer) is better than weighing oneself every week at a set time, says I. Not that it particularly matters, if like me for example you exercise for the same amount of time each session, but it’s nice to have a fairly accurate reading of the calories burnt.

Besides, it’s not all about weight, while it’s one thing to try get an accurate measurement of calories burnt during exercise, I’m not that concerned in the fluctuations of my overall weight, in fact I enjoy feeling better for doing the activity than any perceived weight loss.

